Subsection 4.—Canadian External Aid Programs

The Colombo Plan.—The Colombo Plan for Co-operative Economic Development in South and Southeast Asia was conceived at the Commonwealth Meeting of Foreign Ministers held at Colombo, Ceylon, in January 1950. Although the Plan was initiated by Commonwealth governments, it is not exclusively a Commonwealth Program. It is designed to assist in the economic development and the raising of living standards of all countries and territories in the general area of South and Southeast Asia. Its membership now includes Afghanistan, Australia, Bhutan, Britain, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Ceylon, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Maldive Islands, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Thailand, Viet-Nam and the United States; the latter is also engaged in a substantial program of economic aid in the same region. Afghanistan and the Maldive Islands are the latest members and were admitted to membership in 1963.

The Colombo Plan is supervised by a Consultative Committee composed of Ministers of the member countries, who meet once a year to review projects and exchange views on policy matters. As a consultative body, it makes no collective policy decisions binding member countries; a Council for Technical Co-operation, on which Canada is represented, meets regularly in Ceylon to develop the technical co-operation program of the Plan. Consultative Committee meetings were held in Karachi in 1952, New Delhi in 1953, Ottawa in 1954, Singapore in 1955, Wellington in 1956, Saigon in 1957, Seattle in 1958, Jogjakarta in 1959, Tokyo in 1960, Kuala Lumpur in 1961, Melbourne in 1962, Bangkok in 1963 and London in 1964. At the Jogjakarta meeting it was agreed to extend the Colombo Plan for another five years from June 1961, and it was similarly extended for a further five years at the London meeting in 1964. Reports of the Committee on progress and future plans are published after each annual meeting; each report also contains sections describing the activities of member countries.

From the inception of the Plan in 1950 through March 1966, Canada made available a total of \$670,619,000 in grant aid for capital and technical assistance projects in South and Southeast Asia. Although nine countries are now receiving capital assistance from Canada, the largest contributions have so far been made to Ceylon, India, Malaysia and Pakistan. The Canadian contribution consists primarily of direct assistance to various development projects, including equipment for multi-purpose irrigation and hydro-electric projects, power-generating plants, construction and fisheries projects and resources surveys, hospital equipment and cobalt therapy units, as well as educational and laboratory equipment and books. It has also included gifts of raw materials, commodities and foodstuffs, such as industrial metals, asbestos, fertilizer, wheat, wheat flour and butter, from the internal sale of which recipient governments have been able to raise funds to meet local costs of economic development projects.

Under the Technical Assistance Program, up to March 1966, more than 3,500 persons from all countries in the area had come to Canada for training in a variety of fields, the major ones being public administration and finance, agriculture, co-operatives, engineering, mining and geology, statistics, health education and social welfare. More than 375 Canadian experts had been sent abroad for service in Colombo Plan countries in such fields as fisheries, agriculture, engineering, mining and prospecting, co-operatives, public administration, education and vocational training, and public health. Other Canadians were employed on aerial resources survey teams and on the installation and operation of capital equipment.

Commonwealth Caribbean Program.—In 1958, when the Federation of the West Indies was being formed, Canada undertook a five-year \$10,000,000 program of economic and technical assistance. Following the dissolution of the Federation in 1962, it was decided to continue providing assistance to its component territories—Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, British Guiana (Guyana), British Honduras and the Leeward and Windward Islands—and, since then, a total of \$21,180,000 in loans and grants has been made available to the area, including \$10,000,000 under the 1965-66 program.